Acceptance of Illness -
Chronic and Severe

Contents of this article on Acceptance of Illness, chronic and severe:

  • Acceptance is not resignation
  • A poem about accepting illness - more of a thought bite!
  • My story of not being very good at accepting illness!

Acceptance of Illness Is Not Resignation to Staying Ill

Acceptance of illness can be confused with resignation.

"But if I accept the illness, aren't I giving into it?
Won't it make it more likely that I don't recover?"

To be resigned is a heavy feeling:
"Well this is just how things are and will always be. Nothing will ever change."

Acceptance is a falling into the present moment, a willingness to accept yourself whether you have an illness or whether you have health.

Both resignation and acceptance have their place when coming to terms with illness. And both can be turning points in learning to stop putting your life on hold and deciding to live life just as you are, at the level of health you have.

Sign up to receive the free book
and to keep in touch

Enter Your E-mail Address
Enter Your First Name (optional)

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Healing CFS/ME.

A Poem on Acceptance of Illness

(More of a thought-bite than a poem!)

My story of not being very good at accepting illness!

When I was bedbound with severe Chronic Fatigue Syndrome /Myalgic Encephalomyelitis I didn't get very far in terms of acceptance of illness. Illness felt like a bad dream from which I kept hoping to wake up. In a way it feels like that is what happened. It still seems a little unbelievable that I am walking and talking and doing the wonderful things I am doing.

I still don't accept CFS/ME at this new level in the sense that I still feel like a fit, active and busy person in a body that doesn't live up to that description!

I know that I continue to move forwards with leaving the past behind, as well as with accepting the significant restrictions of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome with which I continue to life.

There are 7 stages of acceptance that you are likely to pass through time and time again as you move towards feeling more at peace with a life lived with chronic illness. These stages of acceptance can also be called the stages of grief. You are very welcome to claim my free ebook - The 7 Stages of Grief of Chronic Illness.

Reading about the 7 Stages of Grief is one way to help yourself raise your level of self compassion in a time of chronic illness. Another way is to give yourself new permissions - for example to say no when you need to, or to ask for help. Click through for advice on giving yourself new permissions.


Katherine T Owen

Webmaster and author of Be Loved, Beloved ( or kindle)

› Accepting Illness

© Katherine T Owen. All articles on this website are copyrighted. I am delighted if you choose to click above to share this page on social media, but please do not copy, print or otherwise use without my permission. Thank you.

Disclaimer: I am not a medical practitioner. The articles on this website are not to be taken as medical advice. Please consult a medical practitioner as necessary.